AIA Minnesota is pleased to announce that Jackie Millea, AIA, is the recipient of the 2018 Emerging Talent of the Year Award. 

After more than 15 years of interior design practice, Millea earned a Master of Architecture degree from the University of Minnesota and is a founding principal of the Minneapolis firm Shelter Architecture. In her design work, Millea is passionate about pursing a greater understanding of how design can better our wellness and overall health, relationships and communities. She has become a leader in accessible design and strives to ensure that homes are designed to work for all ages and abilities.

In reviewing Jackie’s portfolio, jurors remarked that her commitment to accessible design comes through clearly and consistently in her body of work. They remarked that her designs “show great stylistic breadth and range, characterized by a crisp, clean and straightforward style.”

The jury for this award included Christine Albertsson, AIA, Albertsson Hansen Architecture, Ltd.; Jody McGuire, AIA, SALA Architects; Jacob Mans, University of Minnesota School of Architecture; and Chris Lee, editor with Midwest Home magazine.

Ms. Millea and the Architect of Distinction Award recipient will be recognized in the April/May 2018 issue of Midwest Home magazine as well as at an event hosted by the magazine at Martha O’Hara Interiors on April 4.

The Emerging Talent of the Year Award is given annually to a residential architect licensed for ten or fewer years who demonstrates an innovative approach to design, the emergence of a unique architectural voice and a developing mastery of architecture. The program is a partnership with Greenspring Media, publisher of Midwest Home magazine.


Past Award Recipients

2017  Jody McGuire, AIA
2016  Bob Ganser, AIA
2015   Michael Roehr, AIA
2014   Christopher Strom, AIA
2013   Ben Awes, AIA
2012   Bryan Anderson, AIA
2011   Meghan Kell Cornell, AIA
2010   Christian Dean, AIA
2009   Kerrik Wessel, AIA
2008   Todd Hansen, AIA
2007   Geoffrey Warner, AIA
2006   Jean Rehkamp Larson, AIA
2005   Christine Albertsson, AIA
2004   Wynne Yelland, AIA