The AIA Minnesota Women in Architecture Committee will sponsor a networking breakfast at this year’s Minnesota Conference on Architecture. 

Tabletalk/Networking Breakfast with Women in Architecture

Friday, November 17 from 8:00 – 10:00 a.m.

Come to the table and join the conversation with leading women architects. At this networking session/brunch, attendees will break into small groups and discuss current topics and controversy in the profession of architecture. Each conversation will be moderated by women leading the profession in design, academia, and community service, including:

Susan Blumentals, FAIA, is one of two female graduates from Ralph Rapson’s UMN School of Architecture. She was the first female professional member of the Minnesota Registration Board (AELSLAGID) in 1991, the first female to chair that board, and to hold leadership positions at NCARB and in the ARE testing program. She retired in 2003 as president of B/A (Blumentals/Architecture). 

Renée Cheng, FAIA, is a professor in the UMN School of Architecture. Renée has pioneered research surrounding the intersection of design and emerging technologies including work on industry adoption of IPD, BIM and Lean. 

Sally Grans Korsh, FAIA, has been the facilities management and environmental policy director at the National Association of College and University Business Officers for the last five years, representing more than 2,100 colleges and universities across the country. Sally’s position is to overlay good facilities management and advance sustainability. 

Rebecca J. Lewis, FAIA, principal at DSGW Architects, works exclusively with small, community healthcare providers. This experience gives her a unique understanding of rural healthcare’s critical issues. Rebecca is a founding member, Fellow, and former president (2008) of the American College of Healthcare Architects. 

Linda McCracken-Hunt, FAIA, is a principal at JLG Architects, with over forty years as a registered architect. Prior to joining JLG Architects over a year ago, Linda was CEO of Studio Five Architects for 20 years. Linda is a previous president of AIA Minnesota and director on the National AIA Board of Directors. 

Jody McGuire, AIA, is senior associate at SALA Architects, Inc. and a UMN adjunct assistant professor. In 2017, Jody received the AIA MN Emerging Talent Award for excellence in residential design and the AIA MN Young Architects Award for exceptional leadership and significant contributions to the profession. 

Rosemary McMonigal, FAIA, founded McMonigal Architects 33 years ago. Rosemary has advanced the architecture profession and strengthened its image through project-based research, technical innovation, and public outreach. 

Sarah Nettleton, FAIA, LEED AP, is founder and principal of Sarah Nettleton Architects. Through award-winning designs, teaching, and publications, Sarah is shaping a new generation of green design. Sarah is author of The Simple Home: The Luxury of Enough. 

Joan M. Soranno, FAIA, is an award-winning architect specializing in cultural and religious architecture at HGA Architects and Engineers. With colleague John Cook, FAIA, she has created a small in-house design studio that serves as an incubator for innovative design. 

Register to attend this seminar >