

June 13, 2016
FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE









(L to R) Jonathan B. Bartling, AIA, (HGA Architects & Engineers); Angela Wolf Scott, AIA, (MacDonald & Mack Architects); and Christopher Strom, AIA, (Christopher Strom Architects).

## AIA Minnesota Announces Three 2016 Young Architects Award Recipients

MINNEAPOLIS, MINNESOTA – AIA Minnesota is proud to announce the selection of three 2016 Young Architects Award recipients. This award is given to individuals who, in an early stage of their architecture career, have shown exceptional leadership and made significant contributions to the profession. It recognizes architectural talent in the following categories: Design Excellence, Practice, Education, and Service. AIA Minnesota members who have been licensed to practice architecture less than 10 years are eligible for nomination.

## 2016 AIA Minnesota Young Architect Award Recipients:

Jonathan B. Bartling, AIA, is an Associate Vice President at HGA Architects & Engineers (HGA). As the National Director of Digital Practice, he specializes in guiding BIM, Computation, Visualization, and Fabrication across HGA's eight offices. His work enables the delivery of high performance buildings, greater value to the client, enhanced team integration, and design excellence.

Angela Wolf Scott, AIA, is a Partner and Principal with MacDonald & Mack Architects. Her insight, creativity, knowledge, professionalism, and passion, exemplify the profession of architecture. She is highly deserving of this honor because of her dedication to her work, profession, students, and clients.

Christopher Strom, AIA, is an architect who owns his own firm, Christopher Strom Architects. He has demonstrated a singular commitment to the advancement of the profession of architecture through community and professional service which sets him apart from other designers.

## AIA Minnesota

A Society of The American Institute of Architects



These three recipients will be recognized at the annual AIA Minnesota Awards Dinner on Friday, December 2, 2016, at the International Market Square. Learn more about the dinner at <a href="http://www.aia-mn.org/get-involved/aia-minnesota-awards/awards-celebration/">http://www.aia-mn.org/get-involved/aia-minnesota-awards/awards-celebration/</a>.

In addition to the AIA Minnesota Young Architects Award, recipients of this award are encouraged to submit for the AIA National Young Architects Award. To date, eighteen AIA Minnesota architects have received an AIA National Young Architects Award, including: Vicki L. Hooper, AIA, and Joan M. Soranno, AIA, both 1993; William A. Blanski, AIA, 1995; Michael Fischer, AIA, and Robert Rothman, AIA, both 1996; Jeffry Kagermeier, AIA, 2001; Mohammed Lawal, AIA, 2002; Paul Neuhaus, AIA, 2003; Janis LaDouceur, AIA, 2004; James Dayton, AIA, 2005; Philip Koski, AIA, 2007; Michael Meehan, 2008; Matthew Kreilich, AIA, and Michael Schellin, AIA, both 2009; Steven Dwyer, AIA, 2011; Timothy Bicknell, AIA, 2012; John Dwyer, AIA, and Alissa D. Luepke Pier, AIA, both 2013; and Bob Ganser, AIA, Amy Kalar, AIA, and Karen Lu, AIA, all in 2016.

More information regarding the AIA Minnesota Young Architects Award may be found at <a href="http://www.aia-mn.org/get-involved/aia-minnesota-awards/young-architect-award/">http://www.aia-mn.org/get-involved/aia-minnesota-awards/young-architect-award/</a>.

The American Institute of Architects Minnesota, founded in 1892, is dedicated to strengthening our communities, improving our built environment and providing exceptional design. For more information on the organization and Minnesota architectural firms, reference our Web site at <a href="https://www.aia-mn.org">www.aia-mn.org</a>, visit www.facebook.com/aiaminnesota, and pick up a copy of Architecture Minnesota, the award-winning architectural magazine of the Midwest.