



May 21, 2014 FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE **CONTACT** Mary Larkin, Communications Director larkin@aia-mn.org

## AIA Minnesota Announces Five 2014 Young Architect Award Recipients



(L to R): **Bob Ganser, AIA**, (CITYDESKSTUDIO Architecture and Design); **Mamie Harvey, AIA** (Architectural Alliance); **Karen Lu, AIA**, (HGA Architects & Engineers); **Josh Stowers, AIA**, (MSR); and **Pauv Thouk, AIA** (Snow Kreilich Architects)

**MINNEAPOLIS, MINNESOTA** The American Institute of Architects (AIA) Minnesota's Committee on Design selected five recipients for the <u>2014 Young Architects Award</u>. These recipients will be recognized at the annual AIA Minnesota Awards Celebration on Friday, December 5, 2014, at International Market Square.

The AIA Minnesota Young Architect Award is given to architects who are AIA Minnesota members, have been licensed for less than 10 years, and have shown exceptional leadership in service to the profession, the community, design, planning, and education.

More information regarding the AIA Minnesota Young Architect Award Program may be found at <a href="http://www.aia-mn.org/get-involved/aia-minnesota-awards/young-architect-award/">http://www.aia-mn.org/get-involved/aia-minnesota-awards/young-architect-award/</a>

## 2014 AIA Minnesota Young Architect Award Recipients:

**Bob Ganser, AIA,** is a principal and co-founder of CITYDESKSTUDIO Architecture and Design. He has taught undergraduate and graduate design studios at the University of Minnesota since 2006 and was a research assistant at the Metropolitan Design Center. Bob studied architecture and photography in Florence, Italy, as part of a Syracuse University semester abroad program. Practicing in architecture since 1996, he has worked in the architectural offices of HGA, Julie Snow Architects, and MSR.

**Mamie Harvey, AIA,** has been a principal at Architectural Alliance since 2006. She is involved in the leadership of the firm, leading the Science + Technology (S+T) studio. She has a strong interest in the AIA 2030 Commitment due to the high energy use intensity of many S+T projects. Mamie is involved in helping to develop her firm's mentorship program—revising an annual review format to improve feedback and engagement and a career mapping tool to help staff manage their personal career paths

275 Market Street, Suite 54 Minneapolis, MN 55405-1621 Tel 612-338-6763 Fax 612-338-7981 www.aia-mn.org





**Karen Lu, AIA,** is a Senior Associate at HGA Architects & Engineers and a graduate Harvard University Graduate School of Design. During her thirteen years at VJAA, she led and collaborated on numerous projects that have won AIA Honor Awards, AIA/COTE Top Ten Green Project Awards, AIA Minnesota Honor Awards, and Progressive Architecture Awards. Karen was selected to participate in the inaugural AIA Minnesota Leadership Forum and is a regular guest critic at the University of Minnesota School of Architecture where she taught design studio.

**Josh Stowers, AIA,** is a partner and principal at MSR (*Meyer, Scherer & Rockcastle, Ltd.*). He is the director of the firm's marketing and business development for two offices. Through national speaking engagements and the design of award-winning buildings, he is advancing national dialogue surrounding the adaptive reuse of existing environments. He speaks regularly on topics related to the transformation of the work environment at conferences for national organizations.

**Pauv Thouk, AIA**, is an architect with Snow Kreilich Architects, and she oversees the overall operations for the firm. Pauv has contributed to numerous award-winning projects of diverse project types and scales. She received both a Master of Architecture and a Bachelor of Science Architecture from the University of Minnesota.

In addition to the AIA Minnesota Young Architect Award, recipients of this award are encouraged to submit for the AIA National Young Architect Award. To date, eighteen AIA Minnesota architects have received an AIA National Young Architect Award, including: Vicki L. Hooper, AIA, and Joan M. Soranno, AIA, both 1993; William A. Blanski, AIA, 1995; Michael Fischer, AIA, and Robert Rothman, AIA, both 1996; Jeffry Kagermeier, AIA, 2001; Mohammed Lawal, AIA, 2002; Paul Neuhaus, AIA, 2003; Janis LaDouceur, AIA, 2004; James Dayton, AIA, 2005; Philip Koski, AIA, 2007; Michael Meehan, 2008; Matthew Kreilich, AIA, and Michael Schellin, AIA, both 2009; Steven Dwyer, AIA, 2011; Timothy Bicknell, AIA, 2012; and John Dwyer, AIA, and Alissa D. Luepke Pier, AIA, both 2013.

More information regarding the AIA Minnesota Young Architect Award Program may be found at <a href="http://www.aia-mn.org/get-involved/aia-minnesota-awards/young-architect-award/">http://www.aia-mn.org/get-involved/aia-minnesota-awards/young-architect-award/</a>

The American Institute of Architects Minnesota, founded in 1892, is dedicated to strengthening our communities, improving our built environment and providing exceptional design. For more information on the organization and Minnesota architectural firms, reference our web site at www.aia-mn.org and pick up a copy of Architecture Minnesota, the award-winning architectural magazine of the Midwest.