

Minnesota September 14, 2016 Contact: Mary-Margaret Zindren, Executive Vice President FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE zindren@aia-mn.org

AIA Minnesota Announces 2016 Special Award Recipients

The American Institute of Architects

AIA Minnesota 275 Market St Ste 54 Minneapolis, MN 55405-1621

T (612) 338-6763 F (612) 338-7981

www.aia-mn.org



Photos courtesy of the University of Minnesota and Janet Streff.

MINNEAPOLIS, MINNESOTA – AIA Minnesota announces three **2016 Special Award** recipients: Lee Anderson, Lance LaVine, and Janet Streff.

Through its Special Award, AIA Minnesota seeks to encourage, stimulate, and recognize exceptional contributions that improve the quality of our physical environment made by individuals and organizations that operate outside of the architectural profession. This award celebrates architecture as a collaborative effort that relies on the talents and commitment of many individuals working together to achieve common goals.

Lee Anderson, retired Associate Professor Emeritus, School of Architecture, College of Design, University of Minnesota, has shaped the role of technology in architecture at the University of Minnesota, since the inception of computer-aided design. His decades of influence on both the development and adoption of emerging architectural representation software has had significant impact on our local architectural community. Lee was an advocate for intuitive modeling programs like Sketch-Up combined with other virtual reality and 3D fabrication that could be leveraged to understand the experiential aspects of design rather than designing objects in space. Today, these methods have grown into Virtual Reality Design Lab, one of the largest and most advanced virtual reality systems in the world.

Jury comments:

"Lee is an educator and a hands-on creator in the truest sense. There is nothing that isn't contagious about that. As a student witnessing your professor's approach to solving challenges in technology like no one else would be awe-inspiring. The fact that so many students can readily and specifically share these stories about Lee, and cite the impact he's had on them and the profession, is award-worthy. He doesn't abide by status quo -- he's shown consistent application and disciplined processes. He's truly a visionary in his field who has been carving the way technology-wise for how the profession practices." **Lance LaVine**, Professor Emeritus at the School of Architecture, College of Design, University of Minnesota, has made a major contribution to the architectural education of thousands of University of Minnesota students for over four decades. The knowledge these students impart to our design community contributes immensely to the strong professional community of Minnesota architects we have today. He has taught at all levels of coursework, from large introductory lectures to the most senior graduate philosophical seminars and thesis tutoring. Lance is revered as a pioneer in energy, conservation and alternative resources, and published a book on technology's role in architecture and humanity's understanding of nature in 1997, Mechanics and Meaning in Architecture.

Jury comments:

"Lance is a well-respected, top-notch faculty member who has an outstanding gift for inspiring students. It's almost like a different type of education that is really about igniting a passion within students and guiding them on a journey to find and express their own design voice. He imparts his experience in a way that gives students the power to create their own language for the conversations that are relevant to the profession today."

Janet Streff, retired from the State Energy Office, which is housed in the Minnesota Department of Commerce, has provided vision and leadership of vast stakeholder groups in the design, construction and utility industries for over 20 years and shaped the Conservation Improvement Program (CIP), B3 and SB 2030 programs in Minnesota into world-class energy conservation and efficiency activities. She greatly impacted Minnesota's ability to steadily rank in the top ten in the State Energy Efficiency Scorecard and led the design of Minnesota's low-income Weatherization Assistance Program and its Conservation Improvement Program, which was singled out for top performance by the U.S. Department of Energy. More recently, she helped develop state programs such as the Made in Minnesota Solar Incentive Program, a ten-year, \$150 million program to bolster the solar market in Minnesota, and the Guaranteed Energy Savings Program, a public sector building retrofit program.

Jury comments:

"Janet has led an exemplary clean energy agenda and has been vital in implementing Minnesota's energy policies and programs. Throughout her career, Janet has shown the passion, diligence, and commitment required to shepherd change in a complex environment of stakeholders. She went above and beyond in her efforts to pave the way in clean energy advancements, and in doing so, directly and greatly impacted the profession of architecture to the positive."

The AIA Minnesota Special Award jury was comprised of representatives from a host of AIA Minnesota committees and award winners, including: Shida Du, AIA, BWBR Architects; Amy Kalar, AIA, RSP Architects; Ed Kodet, FAIA, Kodet Architectural Group; and Samantha Mendiola, AIA, HGA Architects.

The 2016 Special Awards will be given at AIA Minnesota's Awards Dinner on Friday, December 2, 2016 at International Market Square in Minneapolis, MN. Learn more about the Special Award at <u>http://www.aia-mn.org/get-involved/aia-minnesotaawards/special-awards/</u> and the awards dinner at <u>http://www.aia-mn.org/get-involved/aia-minnesota-awards/awards-celebration/</u>.