AIA St. Paul is pleased to announce that the team of Chad Miller, Assoc. AIA and Kamon Liu, Assoc. AIA, both of U + B Architecture and Design, has been awarded first place and $1,500 as the winner of the 2018 St. Paul Prize Design Competition. Honorable Mention was awarded to the team of Joe Mollen, AIA, and Sean Higgins, Assoc. AIA, both of RSP Architects.

This year’s design opportunity focused on University Avenue West and a site adjacent to the League of Minnesota Cities. The challenge was to create a collaborative local government resource center. The design competition is open to emerging architectural professionals who have graduated with an accredited professional architecture degree in the last ten years. 

The jury met in late October to review the competition entries. Jurors included Matthew Tierney, AIA, 2017 St. Paul Prize winner; Jarett Anderson, AIA, St. Paul chapter board member; Lucy Thompson, Principal City Planner for the City of St. Paul; Amy Brenmoen, Ward 5 Council President; and Coralis Rodriguez, Assoc. AIA, St. Paul chapter board member.

The winning St. Paul Prize design submittals were on display at A’18 MN: the Minnesota Conference on Architecture at the Minneapolis Convention Center. The winning entrants will also be given the opportunity to present their projects at a future St. Paul AIA “Food For Thought” lunchtime program, date and location to be determined.