To become an architect in Minnesota, you must satisfy:

An education requirement, an NAAB Accredited Professional Degree (B.Arch or M.Arch)

An experience requirement, through the Architectural Experience Program (AXP)

And an examination requirement, the Architect Registration Examination (ARE)

Education Requirement

The University of Minnesota School of Architecture and Dunwoody College of Technology are the only accredited schools in Minnesota from which students can graduate with a degree that will allow them to become licensed architects in the state of Minnesota.


The Architectural Experience Program (AXP) identifies the comprehensive experience that is essential for the independent practice of architecture. The program includes 96 tasks that are typically performed in six experience areas. Individuals can potentially begin to earn AXP experience after graduating from high school.


The Architect Registration Examination (ARE) assesses candidates for their knowledge, skills, and ability to provide the various services required in the practice of architecture and is administered at Prometric test centers. 


National Architectural Accrediting Board — NAAB
National Council of Architectural Registration Board — NCARB
AELSLAGID — Minnesota Licensing Board
The American Institute of Architecture Students — AIAS

DJ Heinle, AIA – AIA Minnesota Architect Licensing Advisor
Mike Christenson, AIA – U of M Architect Licensing Advisor