The AIA Minnesota Architect Licensing Advisory Committee coordinates awarding a scholarship to an AIA Minnesota Associate member or MSP NOMA member  to cover the costs of all sections of the Architect Registration Exam, within the parameters defined in the application. 5.0 test fees currently total $1,410 for all six sections of this exam.

2023 ARE Scholarship Application & Eligibility

2023 ARE Scholarship Application – the deadine has passed


  • By the time of application, the applicant must be an AIA Minnesota Associate member or MSP NOMA member
  • Eligible applicants may have begun the test taking process 
  • The applicant’s employer does not reimburse employees for test fees

Announcing the 2022 ARE Scholarship Recipient

Congratulations to Eden Garton, Assoc. AIA, for receiving the 2022 ARE Scholarship.

Eden was selected to receive AIA Minnesota’s 2022 ARE Scholarship. In 300 words or less, applicants were required to write an essay defining the role of the licensed architect of the future.

The thesis for Eden’s essay is, “A single designer, nor a singular licensed architect, could tackle the challenges of the future, alone. Instead, an intricate network of diverse voices from a variety of professions must unify to confront climate change, social inequities, global pandemics and more.”

Click here to read Eden’s essay.

Previous Scholarship Recipients

2021: Windy Fleischaker
2020: Miranda Moen
2019: Hans-Christian Karlsburg
2018: John Kretchmer
2017: Eric Lagergren
2016: Kaitlin Schalow
2015: Abigail Merlis
2014: Ross Elenkiwich
2013: Jessica Soffer Kraft
2010: Ryan Erspamer
2009: James Lindborg and David Wilson
2008: Jennifer Wyman
2007: Puneet Vedi and James Arentson and Rebecca Hine
2005: Allissa Pier and Travis Miller

Contact Deanna Christiansen