Since 1954, AIA Minnesota has celebrated outstanding architecture and urban design through its annual Honor Awards Program. We invite you to submit your firm’s best, recent work to be considered for a 2017 Honor Award.

Our Honor Awards acknowledge outstanding built projects by AIA Minnesota members, or firms that are owned by AIA Minnesota members, that practice professionally in Minnesota. We encourage broad participation from established and new practitioners of firms of all sizes — small, medium, or large.

The deadline for submissions for the 2017 AIA Minnesota Honor Awards is Friday, September 22. Submit your entry online.


To be eligible, submitted projects must follow these guidelines, regardless of budget, style, or project type. Projects that have received an Honor Award in past years are not eligible for re-submission. Projects submitted must meet the following four guidelines:

* The project must have been completed within the last seven years (since January 1, 2010) including: individual buildings, groups of buildings, preservation or restoration of existing buildings, or building interiors. (Since many urban design and master planning projects are never completed in the traditional sense, incomplete projects may be recognized if a significant portion has been completed);

* The project must have been designed by an AIA Minnesota member at the AIA or Associate level or by a firm that is owned by an AIA Minnesota member at the AIA or Associate level;

* The project must have been designed by an AIA member practicing in accordance with Minnesota architecture registration laws and complying with federal wage and labor laws by not employing unpaid intern architects; and

* The project must have been designed in Minnesota (for project teams, the majority of the design work needs to have been done in Minnesota) by AIA Minnesota members.
Selection Criteria

Process Information

AIA Minnesota asks jurors to consider the following in their deliberations:
- Relationship of a project’s design to its size or complexity to site and larger contextual concerns
- Degree of design invention and convention
- Response to program
- Attention to craft and detail
- Environmental advancement demonstrating sustainable design and conservation of resources
- Adherence to the submission guidelines and requirements

Submissions are weighed individually - not in competition with each other. As a rule, projects are judged on their own merit and all awards are given at the jury's discretion.

In your submission, provide sufficient explanation of the distinguishing characteristics of the project, but avoid lengthy descriptions of features described via graphic images. There will be no site visits.

Any project that credits a jury member or firm as architect, associate architect, consultant, or client is ineligible and will be disqualified if submitted.

Communication with the jury from the time of submittal to completion of the jury process by the candidate or anyone acting on their behalf is inappropriate and cause for disqualification.


If you have any questions or concerns related to the AIA Minnesota Honor Awards process, please contact Mary-Margaret Zindren, Executive Vice President, or Amber Allardyce, director of membership and operations, or call 612-338-6763.

2016 Honor Award Recipients

AIA Minnesota is pleased to announce the selection of seven projects as the recipients of the 2016 Honor Awards, selected by a jury of architects from three internationally recognized architecture firms:

  • Bee & Pollinator Center, MSR Design
  • Emerson Process Management, HGA Architects and Engineers (HGA)
  • Izzy's Ice Cream Factory & Scoop Shop, Salmela Architect
  • Larson Bergquist, Salmela Architect
  • The Rose, MSR Design
  • Sonoma Residence, Alchemy Architects, LLC
  • studioIDS, Perkins+Will

Download the release.

Past Honor Award Recipients

Download a list of past Honor Award recipients.