Pictured: 2022 Louis Lundgren Award for Service recipient Alissa D. Luepke Pier, AIA.

The Louis Lundgren Award for Service recognizes an individual AIA Minnesota member for his or her outstanding contributions in the area of community and professional service. Through their work as citizen architects, recipients of the award are regarded by their peers for their prolonged and effective volunteer activism.

The submission window for the 2023 Louis Lundgren Award for Service program is now closed.


Any member of AIA Minnesota who graduated from a NAAB-accredited program no later than 2017 and whose membership is in good standing at the time of nomination is eligible. Emeritus members are eligible.

All AIA Minnesota award programs will now require a declaration that candidates for awards are in compliance with the AIA Code of Ethics and Professional Conduct. Nominators will need to certify that candidates comply to the best of their knowledge. This is part of our commitment to ensuring that recipients of AIA Minnesota awards comport to the highest standards of character and professionalism, and is in compliance with requirements for AIA national awards.


A jury selected by the Committee on Design will review the nominations and oversee the award selection process.

The 2023 Louis Lundgren Award for Service jury:

Michael Friebele, Assoc. AIA
Wale Falade, AIA, NOMA
James Garrett Jr., FAIA, NOMA
Alissa Luepke Pier, AIA
Kyle Palzer, AIA


Areas to be considered when evaluating nominees include:

  • Dedication to advancing the values of AIA (Authenticity, Equity, Collaboration, Integrity) at local, regional and/or national levels; 
  • Engaging institutional and community leaders on issues impacting the profession; and
  • Fostering public dialogue about the value of architecture and design within society.

The nominator submits online a brief statement addressing why this candidate should be considered for this award and is able to submit additional documentation that supports the candidate’s volunteerism, including a list of references (names, emails, phone numbers, and addresses) of witnesses to volunteer efforts, exhibits showing accomplishments of volunteer efforts, publications or articles addressing those accomplishments, and/or any other items supporting the quality of the candidate’s volunteer efforts.

2022 Louis Lundgren Award

Alissa Luepke Pier, AIA

Read the release.

Louis Lundgren Award Recipients

1994   Louis Lundgren, AIA
1995   Thomas H. Sopoci, AIA
1996   Ronald Krank, AIA
1997   Charles D. Liddy, FAIA
1998   William E. Rust, AIA
1999   Eldon Morrison, AIA
2000   None
2001   Charles Huntley, AIA
2003   Dennis Grebner, FAIA
2003   Elizabeth Thompson, AIA
2005   Richard T. Faricy, AIA
2006   Keith Sjoquist, AIA
2007   Vicki Hooper, AIA
2008   Michael Schrock, AIA
2008   John W. Cuningham, FAIA
2009   Charles E. Sullivan, AIA
2010   None
2011    Doug Westby, AIA
2012    Douglas D. Pierce, AIA
2013    Paul Mellblom, AIA
2014    None
2015    Phillip Glenn Koski, AIA
2016 David L. Andersen, AIA
2017 Theodore R. Lentz, AIA
2018 John Dwyer, AIA
2019 Rosemary McMonigal, FAIA
2020   Kermit Duncan, AIA
2021 Sara Rothholz Weiner, AIA
2022   Alissa D. Luepke Pier, AIA