Images: 2022 25 Year Award Recipient Weesner Amphitheater by HGA.

The 25 Year Award recognizes completed building projects — either individual buildings or groups of buildings — completed at least 25 but not more than 50 years ago. The projects must have been designed by firms with architects registered and practicing professionally in Minnesota.

The submission window for this award will open in spring 2023.


The 25 Year Award recognizes completed, built projects – either individual buildings or groups of buildings. Projects must be completed after January 1, 1971, and before December 31, 1996. Note: Use the first date when a certificate of occupancy is issued. Entries must have been designed by firms with architects registered and practicing professionally in Minnesota.

Entries must be nominated or submitted by a current AIA Minnesota member. Nominations may be made by any AIA Minnesota member; the nominator does not need to be the original architect on the project.


Submissions will be judged by a jury to include: a past 25 Year Award recipient or University of Minnesota, College of Design/Dunwoody School of Architecture faculty member; a past Young Architects Award recipient; and a new AIA Minnesota Fellow. 

The 2022 25 Year Award jury:

Ligeia Cholensky, Allied AIA MN (jury chair)
Michelle Mongeon Allen, FAIA
Trevor Bullen, AIA
Nathan Steuerwald, AIA
Ellie Ziaie, Assoc. AIA


Submissions must include a minimum of three exterior images, three interior images, and one site plan. 

All AIA Minnesota award programs will now require a declaration that candidates for awards are in compliance with the AIA Code of Ethics and Professional Conduct. Nominators will need to certify that candidates comply to the best of their knowledge. This is part of our commitment to ensuring that recipients of AIA Minnesota awards comport to the highest standards of character and professionalism, and is in compliance with requirements for AIA national awards.

25 Year Award Recipient – 2022

The Minnesota Zoological Gardens-Weesner Family Amphitheater, located in Apple Valley Minnesota and designed by HGA, is the 2022 recipient of the 25 Year Award. The project team included Gary Reetz, FAIA, principal-in-charge/project manager; Bill Blanski, FAIA, project designer, and Jim Butler, AIA, all from HGA; landscape architects Tom Oslund, FASLA and Tadd Kreun, FASLA, previously at HGA, and project consultants Arkay Construction and Kvernstoen, Kehl and Associates.

Read the press release.

25 Year Award Recipients

Download a list of past 25 Year Award recipients.

Questions? Contact AIA Minnesota