(Left to right: Michelle Mongeon Allen, FAIA; Alicia Belton, FAIA, NOMA; Peter Hendee Brown, FAIA; and Nathan Knutson, FAIA)

MINNEAPOLIS, February 25, 2022
— Congratulations to the four Minnesota architects elevated to the AIA College of Fellows in 2022. AIA Fellows are recognized with the AIA’s highest membership honor for their exceptional work and contributions to architecture and society. Architects who have made significant contributions to the profession and society and who exemplify architectural excellence can become a member of the AIA College of Fellows. Only 3 percent of the AIA members have this distinction.

Michelle Mongeon Allen, FAIA, is the CEO of JLG Architects. Rooted in the rural, northern Midwest, Michelle Mongeon Allen has pioneered a unique architectural practice model that is generating measurable design excellence within small communities while cultivating professional opportunity for current, emerging, and future architects.

Alicia Belton, FAIA, NOMA, is the founding principal of Urban Design Perspectives. Alicia is a citizen architect and servant leader whose civic activism and humanitarian work builds social equity, expands the diversity of voices in architecture and public art, and enriches human potential locally and abroad.

Peter Hendee Brown, FAIA, is an instructor at the University of Minnesota Humphrey School of Public Affairs and College of Design. Advocating through multiple channels as architect, planner, author, and teacher, Peter Brown proves that we implement better designs for our communities through improved understanding, communication, and respect amongst all stakeholders in the city-building process.

Nathan F. Knutson, FAIA, is managing principal of VJAA. Prioritizing design excellence, Nathan Knutson elevates the profession through management leadership of a nationally recognized practice and direct client engagement on award-winning projects – experiences openly shared with peers and future professionals through academic teaching.

Learn more about the AIA College of Fellows »