Pictured: Rosemary McMonigal, FAIA

MINNEAPOLIS, September 3, 2019Rosemary McMonigal, FAIA,is the 2019 AIA Minnesota Louis Lundgren Award for Service recipient.


Each year, the Louis Lundgren Award for Service recognizes one Minnesota architect for their outstanding contributions in the area of community and professional service. Through their work as citizen architects, recipients of the award are regarded by the peers for their prolonged and effective volunteerism.


McMonigal served 15 years as Architectural Advisor on the Minnesota Capitol Area Architectural Planning Board, reviewing issues directly affecting zoning, planning, development, and design for the area and advising on the Capitol restoration project. She helped launch the first Minneapolis/St. Paul Home Tour; serves on boards, councils, and juries; works with youth in schools, scouting, and career programs; and volunteers in many capacities locally and nationally.  


In addition to her volunteer work in these capacities, McMonigal provides pro bono design support for nonprofits, leads historic walking tours, and speaks with groups to further the understanding of the public of the value of architecture.She accomplished all these things while running a small firm that produces significant, award-winning residential architecture, and advocating for small firms within AIA Minnesota throughout her career.


The AIA Minnesota Louis Lundgren Award jury included representatives from AIA Minnesota committees and award winners, including Kim Bretheim, FAIA, Housing Studio Leader, LHB Corp.; Adam Ariano, AIA, incoming co-chair of the AIA Minnesota Committee on Design and Associate at Alliiance; and Malini Srivastava, AIA, Assistant Professor in Resilient and Regenerative Design, University of Minnesota College of Design.


The jury noted that McMonigal has made significant contributions to the community at large, and to the architecture community, and that her service has broadened understanding and valuing of the profession among all she serves. She exemplifies the award’s goal of recognizing service and the contributions of Minnesota’s citizen architects.


McMonigal will receive her award at the annual AIA Minnesota Awards Event on December 6, 2019 at International Market Square in Minneapolis, Minnesota. Learn more about the Louis Lundgren Award here.


The American Institute of Architects Minnesota, founded in 1892, is dedicated to strengthening our communities, improving our built environment and providing exceptional design. For more information on the organization and Minnesota architectural firms, reference our website, visit our Facebook page and pick up a copy of Architecture MN, our award-winning magazine.