MINNEAPOLIS, September 28, 2017 — Theodore R. Lentz, AIA, is the 2017 AIA Minnesota Louis Lundgren Award recipient.

Each year, the Louis Lundgren Award recognizes one Minnesota architect for their dedication to the profession of architecture through community volunteerism and professional leadership.

Mr. Lentz was nominated for his 45-plus years of service to St. Paul and surrounding communities. Recently, he became a leading advocate for the Capitol restoration project, serving as an appointed member of the Capitol Preservation Commission and as president of the Cass Gilbert Society, adding his architect’s perspective to finding largely unnoticed areas in the Capitol building for the display of art.

The AIA Minnesota Louis Lundgren Award jury included representatives from a host of AIA Minnesota committees and award winners, including Amy Douma, AIA, Design Principal, HGA Architects and Engineers; Nathan Johnson, AIA, Firm Principal, 4RM+ULA, President-Elect of AIA Minnesota; Edward J. Kodet, Jr., FAIA, Principal-in-Charge, Lead Designer, Kodet Architectural Group, Ltd.; and Christopher Strom, AIA, Principal, Christopher Strom Architects.

The jury noted how Lentz’s extensive volunteering has impacted many Minnesotans, which embodies the spirit of the award. They also noted that his dedication to volunteerism demonstrated that his personal and professional values are the same, and both are based on a lifetime of service to the community.

Lentz will receive his award at the annual AIA Minnesota Awards Dinner on December 8, 2017 at International Market Square in Minneapolis, Minnesota. Learn more about the Louis Lundgren Award here.

The American Institute of Architects Minnesota, founded in 1892, is dedicated to strengthening our communities, improving our built environment and providing exceptional design. For more information on the organization and Minnesota architectural firms, reference our website, visit our Facebook page and pick up a copy of Architecture MN, our award-winning magazine.