Top left to bottom right: Columbia Heights Public Library; Hill Country Science Mill; Ohm Sweet Ohm; The Simons Livery Stable; and The Shed at Crown Center

For high-resolution images of individual projects, contact Sheri Hansen.

MINNEAPOLIS, June 7, 2018 — AIA Minneapolis awarded five Merit Awards to projects designed by AIA Minneapolis architects that tell a story of excellence beyond design; emphasize public interest design; and embrace the varied forces that shape a building. Unique in its approach to assembling a jury, the AIA Minneapolis Merit Award encompasses the views of business professionals, real estate developers, community advocates, academic leaders, as well as architects.

2018 AIA Minneapolis Merit Award recipients:

HGA’s Columbia Heights Public Library is an independent community library whose design facilitates openness, transparency, and visibility to encourage interaction and opportunities for visitors and staff.

SALA Architects’ Ohm Sweet Ohm, located in Roseville, is a private home with a mission to influence the public good. The homeowners are dedicated to reducing their environmental footprint and sharing their experiences to make sustainable practices for residential housing more attainable to others. 

RoehrSchmitt Architecture, LLC’s The Shed at Crown Center transforms a ruin of a heavy manufacturing shed into a shared garden amenity for tenants at the Northeast Minneapolis location. 

U+B Architecture and Design’s The Simons Livery Stable is a sleek studio event center located in downtown Chaska, and is an excellent example of regional historical architecture.

Alliiance’s Hill Country Science Mill recycles a Texas community landmark – a historic feed mill built in 1880 as a steam grist mill and cotton gin – into a gathering place for the community and a forum for science exploration. The Hill Country Science Mill received the additional honor of being selected for the 2018 Michael L. Schrock, AIA, Merit Award.

The Michael L. Schrock, AIA, Merit Award was created to honor Mike Schrock, AIA, who tragically passed away in 2008. This is an additional honor awarded within the context and structure of the AIA Minneapolis Merit Awards to the winning project that most embodies Michael’s 7 Rules of Architecture:

  1. Know where you are from.
  2. Know who you are.
  3. Know why you are.
  4. Respect your benefactors.
  5. Honor the environment.
  6. Architecture must serve those who occupy it.
  7. There is beauty in functional, economical, safe, environmentally responsible, owner-driven architecture.

The Merit Award jury included: Dr. David Antenucci, Scenic Hills Animal Hospital; Amanda Janzen, Schafer Richardson; Jacob Mans, AIA, University of Minnesota, School of Architecture; Derek McCallum, AIA Minneapolis President and RSP Architects; and LaTrisha Vetaw, NorthPoint Health & Wellness Center. The jury reviewed how well the entries achieved client/team satisfaction, technical innovation, environmental responsibility, budget/business success, community impact, and the architectural solution.

The Merit Awards will be presented to recipients at the AIA Minneapolis Chapter Luncheon on June 28 at International Market Square in Minneapolis. Learn more about the awards on the AIA Minneapolis website.

AIA Minneapolis is the largest chapter in Minnesota with more than 1,600 members. Centered in Minneapolis, the chapter territory includes the southwestern portion of the state. As a large chapter, AIA Minneapolis participates with other large AIA chapters nationwide to focus attention on significant issues facing AIA members. The chapter provides leadership, networking, and outreach opportunities for its members.