MINNEAPOLIS, August 1, 2022—Three architects were selected for the 2022 Young Architects Award. This award is given by AIA Minnesota to individuals who, in the early stage of their architecture career, have shown exceptional leadership and made significant contributions to the profession. AIA Minnesota members who have been licensed to practice architecture less than 10 years are eligible for nomination.

This year’s winners demonstrated excellence across all criteria and leadership measures: design excellence, practice, education, service, and contributions to the profession. The diversity of their built projects and mentorship of the next generation of designers make them standout leaders in our state and the profession.

2022 AIA Minnesota Young Architects Award recipients:


Simona Fischer AIA, CPHC, MSR Design’s director of sustainable practice, is a dedicated architect who is recognized nationally for her commitment to advancing sustainable architecture through design, education, research, and advocacy. Jurors noted her commitment to education and the advancement of sustainable design, as well as her work in public policy as outstanding contributions to the profession.

Kyle Palzer, AIA, CID, NCARB is a project architect at Alliiance. His projects are community-focused in the public, travel, learning, and worship realms. Kyle has also volunteered in various AIA roles at national, regional, and state levels. Jurors noted the broad and deep impact of his service and his leadership within the profession as particularly outstanding, as well as his ability to deliver high design on low-budget projects.

David Wilson, AIA is a passionate and optimistic designer focused on arts, community, and education projects. at HGA in Minneapolis. David tirelessly pursues community impact through design excellence, service, and leadership. Jurors were struck by the quality of his design work and his volunteering as deeply aligned with organizational goals and values.

The 2022 Young Architects Award recipients will be recognized at the AIA Minnesota Awards Celebration on Friday, December 2, 2022.

In addition to the AIA Minnesota Young Architects Award, recipients of this award are encouraged to submit for the AIA National Young Architects Award. To date, 29 AIA Minnesota architects have received the national award, including: Vicki L. Hooper, AIA, and Joan Sorrano, FAIA, both in 1993; William Blanski, FAIA, 1995; Michael Fischer, AIA, and Robert Rothman, AIA, both 1996; Jeffrey Kagermeier, AIA, 2001; Mohammed Lawal, AIA, 2002; Paul Neuhaus, AIA, 2003; James Dayton, AIA, 2005; Philip Koski, AIA, 2007; Michael Meehan, 2008; Matthew Kreilich, FAIA, and Michael Schellin, AIA, both 2009; Steven Dwyer, FAIA, 2011; Timothy Bicknell, AIA, 2012; John Dwyer, AIA, and Alissa D. Luepke Pier, AIA, both 2013; Bob Ganser, AIA, Amy Kalar, AIA, and Karen Lu, AIA, all in 2016; Angela Wolf Scott, AIA and Malini Srivastava, AIA in 2018; James Garrett, Jr., AIA, NOMA, in 2019; Meredith Hayes Gordon, AIA, Damaris Melo, AIA, NOMA, Amber Sausen, AIA, and Jesse Turck, AIA, in 2020; and Dagmara Larsen, AIA, and Daniel Yudchitz, AIA, in 2021.

More information regarding the AIA Minnesota Young Architects Award may be found at http://aiaminnesota.wpengine.com/get-involved/aia-minnesota-awards/young-architect-award/

The American Institute of Architects Minnesota, founded in 1892, is dedicated to strengthening our communities, improving our built environment, and providing exceptional design. For more information on the organization and Minnesota architectural firms, reference our website and subscribe to ENTER, our digital weekly newsletter that explores how design is shaping a better built environment for Minnesota.