Left to right: Jennifer Christiaansen, AIA; Dagmara Larsen, AIA; and Daniel Yudchitz, AIA

MINNEAPOLIS, July 1, 2020
— Three architects were selected for the 2020 Young Architects Award. This award is given by AIA Minnesota to individuals who, in the early stage of their architecture career, have shown exceptional leadership and made significant contributions to the profession. AIA Minnesota members who have been licensed to practice architecture less than 10 years are eligible for nomination.

This year’s winners demonstrated deep commitment to public service, advancement of the profession and design that improves communities and user experiences, all of which align directly with AIA Minnesota’s core values and the future of the architecture profession.

2020 AIA Minnesota Young Architects Award recipients:

Jennifer Christiaansen, AIA, is Associate Principal and Operations Director at Perkins and Will Minneapolis. Working as a “deep generalist” in architecture–within design, practice, service and research–Jennifer is able to innovate and ultimately give back through her work. The jury noted her dedicated service to the architecture community and her firm in equity, diversity, and inclusion, and the strength and impact of her public projects and materials research as key elements of her work to be recognized with this award.

Dagmara Larsen, AIA, is a Principal at MSR Design. She is a dedicated architect recognized for her commitment to designing equitable, sustainable, and human-centric, award-winning projects for a wide range of organizations and individual clients. The jury celebrated her excellence in design and strong voice in library and higher education design, which has a significant impact on communities, and her role as a firm leader in honoring her work.

Daniel Yudchitz, AIA,
is a Senior Design Architect at LEO A DALY in Minneapolis. He has guided award-winning designs at multiple scales and brings a hands-on approach that focuses on strategic design moves that maximize economy and performance through impactful forms and spaces. The jury noted the innovation and experimentation in design thinking represented in Dan’s body of work, and also his work in projects that spur affordability and public health as deeply relevant to the mission of AIA Minnesota.

These recipients will be recognized at the annual AIA Minnesota Awards Celebration in December.

In addition to the AIA Minnesota Young Architects Award, recipients of this award are encouraged to submit for the AIA National Young Architects Award. To date, 27 AIA Minnesota architects have received the national award, including: Vicki L. Hooper, AIA, and Joan Sorrano, FAIA, both in 1993; William Blanski, FAIA, 1995; Michael Fischer, AIA, and Robert Rothman, AIA, both 1996; Jeffrey Kagermeier, AIA, 2001; Mohammed Lawal, AIA, 2002; Paul Neuhaus, AIA, 2003; James Dayton, AIA, 2005; Philip Koski, AIA, 2007; Michael Meehan, 2008; Matthew Kreilich, FAIA, and Michael Schellin, AIA, both 2009; Steven Dwyer, FAIA, 2011; Timothy Bicknell, AIA, 2012; John Dwyer, AIA, and Alissa D. Luepke Pier, AIA, both 2013; Bob Ganser, AIA, Amy Kalar, AIA, and Karen Lu, AIA, all in 2016; Angela Wolf Scott, AIA and Malini Srivastava, AIA in 2018; James Garrett, Jr., AIA, NOMA, in 2019; Meredith Hayes Gordon, AIA, Damaris Melo, AIA, NOMA, Amber Sausen, AIA, and Jesse Turck, AIA, in 2020.

More information regarding the AIA Minnesota Young Architects Award may be found at http://aiaminnesota.wpengine.com/get-involved/aia-minnesota-awards/young-architect-award/

The American Institute of Architects Minnesota, founded in 1892, is dedicated to strengthening our communities, improving our built environment and providing exceptional design. For more information on the organization and Minnesota architectural firms, reference our website, visit our Facebook page and pick up a copy of Architecture MN, our award-winning magazine.