The Special Award is an award category that has become an increasingly important part of the overall awards program. AIA Minnesota finds there is a strong need to encourage, stimulate, and recognize exceptional contributions of individuals and organizations that operate outside of the field of architecture who improve the quality of our physical environment.

2015 AIA Minnesota Special Award Recipients

(Pictured above)
Paul Crosby, architectural photographer, Crosby Photography
Roger Cummings, visual artist, Juxtaposition Arts
Doreen Frost, executive director of Minnesota Board of AELSLAGID
Leon Satkowski, professor emeritus, School of Architecture, University of Minnesota
Lorelee Wederstrom, and director of facilities and capital planning for the University of Minnesota’s Academic Health Center
Stephen Weeks, associate professor emeritus in the School of Architecture, University of Minnesota

Download the press release.

Learn more about Special Awards.

These six recipients will receive their Special Awards at the 2015 Awards Dinner on December 4, 2015. Learn more about the reception.