MINNEAPOLIS, September 5, 2018 — AIA Minnesota honored Dr. Victoria M. Young and Chris Lee with 2018 Special Awards.

The AIA Minnesota Special Award seeks to encourage, stimulate and recognize exceptional contributions made by individuals and organizations that improve the quality of our physical environment. This award celebrates architecture as a collaborative effort that relies on the talents and commitment of many individuals working together to achieve common goals.

Dr. Victoria Young is Professor and Chair of Art History at the University of St. Thomas. Young was nominated for her illustrious 20-year career as an architectural educator, author and promoter of Minnesota architecture to a broad and diverse group of students and other members of the public.

Chris Lee is the recently-retired editor of Midwest Home magazine; she is now editor-at-large for the magazine. In her role as editor, she has been a stalwart champion for residential architecture, showcasing the talents of our professional community, advocating for annual awards celebrating Architects of Distinction and Emerging Talent, and promoting the annual Homes by Architects Tour. This publication connects the field of architecture to a broad public audience, making it an essential tool for demonstrating the value of the profession.

The AIA Minnesota Special Award jury included representatives from a host of AIA Minnesota committees and award winners. This year’s submissions were reviewed by Griff Davenport, FAIA, Chief Executive Officer, DLR Group; Philip Koski, AIA, Miller Dunwidde Architects; and Jody McGuire, AIA, Principal, SALA Architects and Associate Adjunct Professor, University of Minnesota College of Design.

The jury emphasized Young’s stalwart support of architecture within her field of art history, and her ability to translate diverse ideas and make them relevant for a broad group of audiences as extremely important to advancing understanding of the profession.

The jurors expressed profound respect for and appreciation of Lee’s support of the architecture profession, and the impact her work has had on helping the public understand the role of architects and the benefits of good design.

Young and Lee will receive their awards at the annual AIA Minnesota Awards Dinner on December 7, 2018 at the McNamara Alumni Center in Minneapolis, Minnesota. Learn more about the Special Award here.

The American Institute of Architects Minnesota, founded in 1892, is dedicated to strengthening our communities, improving our built environment and providing exceptional design. For more information on the organization and Minnesota architectural firms, reference our website, visit our Facebook page and pick up a copy of Architecture MN, our award-winning magazine.