Left to right: Heidi Neumueller, AIA; Matthew Tierney, AIA; and Michael Kisch, AIA.

MINNEAPOLIS, July 9, 2018 — Three architects were selected for the 2018 Young Architects Award. This award is given by AIA Minnesota to individuals who, in the early stage of their architecture career, have shown exceptional leadership and made significant contributions to the profession. AIA Minnesota members who have been licensed to practice architecture less than 10 years are eligible for nomination.

This year’s winners demonstrated deep commitment to public service, advancement of the profession and service-driven design, all of which align directly with AIA Minnesota’s core values and the future of the architecture profession.

2018 AIA Minnesota Young Architects Award recipients:

Michael Kisch, AIA is a Design Project Manager at the University of Minnesota. In addition, he is a Planning Commissioner for the City of Brooklyn Park, and has been an active voice on advisory boards and committees for various industry organizations and communities around the metro. He is currently serving as President-Elect on the AIA Minneapolis Board of Directors and has been an active member on numerous committees of AIA Minnesota over the years. Jurors noted Kisch’s dedication to public service and the advancement of the profession demonstrated by his leadership as a citizen architect in our community. 

Heidi Neumueller, AIA is an associate at Cuningham Group Architecture. In addition to creating a strong design portfolio, Heidi was also a key part of developing the AIA Minnesota Leadership FORUM, which provides hands-on training for emerging leaders in the profession. She also helped develop the AIA Minnesota Emerging Professionals Draughting Club, which provides connection and networking for young architects. Her dedication to advancing the profession of architecture impressed the jury.

Matthew Tierney, AIA is an architect and director of research at Snow Kreilich Architects. Jurors noted his commitment to service-driven design, including design for a school in Kibera Slum in Kenya, as well as his ability to work beyond the traditional boundaries of architecture and help others develop skills for success. Tierney is the first graduate of the Master of Science in Research Practices program at the University of Minnesota and brings his unique perspective into his practice to improve results for his clients and colleagues.

These recipients will be recognized at the annual AIA Minnesota Awards Dinner on Friday, December 7, 2018 at the McNamara Alumni Center.

In addition to the AIA Minnesota Young Architects Award, recipients of this award are encouraged to submit for the AIA National Young Architects Award. To date, 23 AIA Minnesota architects have received the national award, including: Vicki L. Hooper, AIA, and Joan Sorrano, FAIA, both in 1993; William Blanski, AIA, 1995; Michael Fischer, AIA, and Robert Rothman, AIA, both 1996; Jeffrey Kagermeier, AIA, 2001; Mohammed Lawal, AIA, 2002; Paul Neuhaus, AIA, 2003; Janis LaDouceur, AIA, 2004; James Dayton, AIA, 2005; Philip Koski, AIA, 2007; Michael Meehan, 2008; Matthew Kreilich, AIA, and Michael Schellin, AIA, both 2009; Steven Dwyer, AIA, 2011; Timothy Bicknell, AIA, 2012; John Dwyer, AIA, and Alissa D. Luepke Pier, AIA, both 2013; Bob Ganser, AIA, Amy Kalar, AIA, and Karen Lu, AIA, all in 2016; and Angela Wolf Scott, AIA and Malini Srivastava, AIA in 2018.

More information regarding the AIA Minnesota Young Architects Award »

The American Institute of Architects Minnesota, founded in 1892, is dedicated to strengthening our communities, improving our built environment and providing exceptional design. For more information on the organization and Minnesota architectural firms, reference our website, visit our Facebook page and pick up a copy of Architecture MN, our award-winning magazine.