Left to right: Donovan Nelson, AIA; Amber Sausen, AIA; Jesse Turck, AIA; and Jill Vowels, AIA.

MINNEAPOLIS, June 24, 2019
— Four architects were selected for the 2019 Young Architects Award. This award is given by AIA Minnesota to individuals who, in the early stage of their architecture career, have shown exceptional leadership and made significant contributions to the profession. AIA Minnesota members who have been licensed to practice architecture less than 10 years are eligible for nomination.

This year’s winners demonstrated deep commitment to public service, advancement of the profession and design that improves communities and user experiences, all of which align directly with AIA Minnesota’s core values and the future of the architecture profession.

2019 AIA Minnesota Young Architects Award recipients:

Donovan Nelson, AIA is a senior project designer and Associate Vice President at HGA. His work is rooted in solutions that enhance the human experience of being cared for, visiting, or working in healthcare facilities. Jurors noted the ways in which his work elevated design in this crucial category.

Amber Sausen, AIA is a senior associate at Alliiance. Amber is a committed leader, a thoughtful designer, and a passionate teacher. Working locally and internationally, Amber celebrates and promotes the power of architecture and the arts to build community. Jurors recognized Amber’s commitment to advancing the understanding of the value of architecture to the broader community and leadership of AIA Minnesota initiatives.

Jesse Turck, AIA is an architect and project manager at BWBR. He has demonstrated his expertise and passion for sustainable design and climate change advocacy through his architectural work and service to the community. The jury was impressed with the global scale of his climate advocacy and his work on climate initiatives with AIA Minnesota.

Jill Vowels, AIA is a project architect and associate at Perkins + Will. Jill dares to persistently advocate for equitable engagement in space through empathetic and vulnerable design and innovation. With purposeful integration, Jill propagates hope and invigorates curiosity that helps elevate our communities to their greater purpose.The jury noted her work on complex projects and the clear impact she has on good design.

These recipients will be recognized at the annual AIA Minnesota Awards Dinner on Friday, December 6, 2019 at International Market Square.

In addition to the AIA Minnesota Young Architects Award, recipients of this award are encouraged to submit for the AIA National Young Architects Award. To date, 24 AIA Minnesota architects have received the national award, including: Vicki L. Hooper, AIA, and Joan Sorrano, FAIA, both in 1993; William Blanski, AIA, 1995; Michael Fischer, AIA, and Robert Rothman, AIA, both 1996; Jeffrey Kagermeier, AIA, 2001; Mohammed Lawal, AIA, 2002; Paul Neuhaus, AIA, 2003; Janis LaDouceur, AIA, 2004; James Dayton, AIA, 2005; Philip Koski, AIA, 2007; Michael Meehan, 2008; Matthew Kreilich, AIA, and Michael Schellin, AIA, both 2009; Steven Dwyer, AIA, 2011; Timothy Bicknell, AIA, 2012; John Dwyer, AIA, and Alissa D. Luepke Pier, AIA, both 2013; Bob Ganser, AIA, Amy Kalar, AIA, and Karen Lu, AIA, all in 2016; Angela Wolf Scott, AIA and Malini Srivastava, AIA in 2018; and James Garrett, Jr., AIA, NOMA, in 2019.

More information regarding the AIA Minnesota Young Architects Award may be found at http://aiaminnesota.wpengine.com/get-involved/aia-minnesota-awards/young-architect-award/

The American Institute of Architects Minnesota, founded in 1892, is dedicated to strengthening our communities, improving our built environment and providing exceptional design. For more information on the organization and Minnesota architectural firms, reference our website, visit our Facebook page and pick up a copy of Architecture MN, our award-winning magazine.