The AIA Minnesota Young Architects Award is given to individuals who, in an early stage of their architectural career, have shown exceptional leadership in service to the profession, the community, design, planning, and/or education. Members of AIA Minnesota who have been licensed to practice architecture less than 10 years are eligible for nomination.

2016 Young Architects Award

Nomination letters are due Friday, April 15.

Submissions are due by noon, on Friday, April 29.

Download the 2016 revised submission entry form.
(Form revised on April 1, 2016. Note revised nomination letter requirements on page 3.)

2015 AIA Minnesota Young Architects Award Recipients

Pictured above, left to right: Rebecca E. Celis, AIA, (HGA Architects & Engineers); Melissa Christenson Ekman, AIA, (Miller Dunwiddie Architecture); James Garrett, Jr., AIA, (4RM+ULA); and Amy Kalar, AIA, (HGA Architects & Engineers).

Download the press release.

View the 2015 Young Architects Award video.

Past AIA Minnesota Young Architects Award Recipients

Download a list of past AIA Minnesota Young Architects Award recipients.

AIA National Young Architects Award

In addition to the AIA Minnesota Young Architects Award, recipients of this award are encouraged to submit for the AIA National Young Architects Award. To date, 18 AIA Minnesota architects have received an AIA National Young Architects Award, including: Vicki L. Hooper, AIA, and Joan M. Soranno, AIA, both 1993; William A. Blanski, AIA, 1995; Michael Fischer, AIA, and Robert Rothman, AIA, both 1996; Jeffry Kagermeier, AIA, 2001; Mohammed Lawal, AIA, 2002; Paul Neuhaus, AIA, 2003; Janis LaDouceur, AIA, 2004; James Dayton, AIA, 2005; Philip Koski, AIA, 2007; Michael Meehan, AIA, 2008; Matthew Kreilich, AIA, and Michael Schellin, AIA, both 2009; Steven Dwyer, AIA, 2011; Timothy Bicknell, AIA, 2012; and John Dwyer, AIA, and Alissa D. Luepke Pier, AIA, both 2013; Bob Ganser, AIA, Karen Lu, AIA, and Amy Kalar, AIA, all 2016. For more information about the national AIA Young Architect Award, visit AIA Young Architects Award.