Supporting the advancement of women in the profession of architecture 

In 2018, the Minnesota Architectural Foundation (MAF) launched the Women in Architecture (WIA) Fund to promote equity in the architecture profession through grants that address challenges that women face over the course of their careers. 

Our vision is to promote equity by supporting the advancement of women in the profession of architecture by increasing the diversity of perspectives in design processes thereby leading to more inclusive design solutions.

Grant Application


The work accomplished with the grant must directly support and impact women in the profession of architecture. Funding is available to:

  • Applicants of all gender identities
  • Applicants who are a resident of the state of Minnesota OR a student attending a Minnesota-based college or university OR has earned a degree from a Minnesota-based college or university.

Different types of projects will be considered; proposals may be related to one or more of the following:

  • Highlighting the work of women architects who are based in or who have done work in Minnesota.
  • Supporting the education of community members regarding women in the profession of architecture.
  • Research related to the careers or education of women in architecture.
  • Proposals related to the education of girls and young women about STEAM careers, particularly if related to architecture.
  • Projects that seek to address “pinch points” in women’s careers in architecture (as noted in the research conducted by Equity By Design)
  • Projects that seek to implement recommendations within the AIA Guides to Equitable Practice

Note: Criteria is reviewed and revised annually by the MAF Board of Directors.

Selection and Notification

All eligible proposals will be reviewed by the WIA Fund Committee of the MAF. The date when applications are due will be set annually by the MAF Board of Directors. All applicants will be notified within four weeks of the application deadline.


The MAF WIA Fund Grant Application process is online. Please note that the application provides a guideline for information that will be evaluated by the committee. It is not intended to be overly time consuming to put together. 
The 2023 deadline for submissions has passed.

Timeframe and Reporting

WIA grantees must complete the following:

  • The applicant must complete their work and spend the funds within one calendar year of the award date of the grant.
  • The applicant must submit a report on the final product, works, or grant work accomplished to the Minnesota Architectural Foundation within three months of the end of the grant period.
  • The applicant must be willing to participate in a public presentation at a location that is approved by the Board.

Funds Availability and Restrictions

In 2023, the WIA Fund will distribute up to $5,000 in grants. Available funds will be determined annually by the Board of Directors.

As required by IRS rules, MAF funds cannot be used to carry on propaganda or otherwise attempt to influence legislation nor can funds be used to influence the outcome of any specific public election.


If you have any questions, please contact Amber Allardyce, Hon. AIAMN, Deputy Executive Director of AIA Minnesota or call (612) 767-1748.

Minnesota Women In Architecture FAIA Legacy Project

The AIA Minnesota Women in Architecture (WIA) Committee in conjunction with the Minnesota Architectural Foundation (MAF) received a Minnesota Historical and Cultural Heritage Program grant from the Minnesota Historical Society for the Minnesota Women in Architecture FAIA Legacy Project. The project aims to increase the visibility of women architects in order to encourage more women to seek a career in architecture and to continue in the profession despite adversity. The FAIA credential is used by architects who have been nominated, applied, and been selected by a prestigious panel of their architectural peers as the best and brightest contributors to the profession of architecture. FAIA status refers to a recipient of this award who has been admitted to the College of Fellows of the American Institute of Architects. Each year a select number of architects are admitted to the College of Fellows nation-wide. This Minnesota Women In Architecture FAIA Legacy Project highlight the women architects in Minnesota who have been elevated to FAIA status by AIA through history so far, as well as those who will be named to this elite group in the future.  View the transcripts of the oral histories:

Dr. Abimbola Asojo, FAIA
Susan Blumentals, FAIA
Renée Cheng, FAIA
Sally Grans Korsh, FAIA
Rebecca Lewis, FAIA
Linda McCracken-Hunt, FAIA
Rosemary McMonigal, FAIA
Sarah Nettleton, FAIA
Julia Robinson, FAIA
Julie Snow, FAIA
Joan Soranno, FAIA
Jennifer Yoos, FAIA

Thank you to our supporters

In 2019, the goal was set to raise $100,000 in seed funding needed to establish this fund.  Thanks to our current significant supporters:

BWBR Architects
Cuningham Group Architecture, Inc.
ESG Architecture & Design
Kodet Architectural Group, Ltd.
MacDonald & Mack Architects, Ltd.
Snow Kreilich Architects